Plenary lectures

MOVD/EDH 2024 will be based around a mixture of named and unamed plenary lectures from international leaders vascular biology 

2 plenary lectures will start each morning and each afternoon session

 Topics will include: conducted vasodilatation, endothelium, endothelium-dependent hyperpolarization and vasodilatation, vascular reactivity in health and disease

Plenary Lecturers for MOVD/EDH 2024: 

 Christian Aalkjær, Aarhus University - Mulvany-Halpern Lecture

Ana Briones, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid - Paul M. Vanhoutte Lecture 

Kim Dora, University of Oxford

Julie Freed, Medical College of Wisconsin

Ingrid Fleming, Goethe University, Frankfurt

Brant Isakson, University of Virginia - Robert F. Furchgott Lecture

Ann Joutel, INSERM Paris

Tom Longden, University of Maryland - Brian Duling Lecture

Mark Nelson, University of Vermont - Björn Folkow Lecture

Oana Sorop, Erasmus University

Plenary Lectures - Provisional titles

Christian Aalkjær:   The importance of small artery structure – where did it start and where are we now

Ana Briones:    Resolving inflammation improves vascular dysfunction in disease

Kim Dora:   Beating human coronary microvascular dysfunction

Julie Freed:   Promoting Resiliency to Stress in the Human Microcirculation

Ingrid Fleming:   More than cGMP: insight into the metabolic and epigenetic actions of eNOS

Brant Isakson:   Alpha globin in endothelium

Anne Joutel:    New insights into the pathogenic mechanisms of CADASIL

Tom Longden:   Electrical control of brain blood flow by capillary pericytes

Mark Nelson:   Translating thought and motion into blood flow in the brain

Oana Sorop:   Microvascular dysfunction in large animal models of obstructive and non-obstructive IHD

Previous MOVD/EDH plenary lecture recipients 

Robert F. Furchgott  Lecture     

S. Moncada (1989)
P.M. Vanhoutte (1993)
R. Busse (1997)
D.G. Harrison (2001)
I. Fleming (2005)
K. Dora (2009)
Y. Huang (2013)
D. Gutterman (2016)
M.-H. Zou (2019)
B.K. Kemp-Harper (2021)

Bjőrn Folkow Lecture

M.J. Mulvany (1997)
G.K. Owens (2001)
J. De Mey (2005)
P. Libby (2009)
E.L. Schiffrin (2013)
S. Davidge (2016)
C. Peppiatt-Wildman (2019)
G.R. Drummond (2021)

Paul M. Vanhoutte Lecture

H. Shimokawa (2001)
A.H. Weston (2005)
T.F. Lüscher (2009)
Z.S. Katusic (2013)
C. Cardillo (2016)
Y. Wang (2019)
A. Xu (2021)

Other named lectures and lecturers at previous MOVD/EDH meetings

Tudor Griffith lecture 

C.E. Hill (2012)
H. Shimokawa (2015)
S.S. Segal (2019)
C. Garland (2021)

John T. Shepherd lecture

G. Burnstock (1986)
C. Owman (1989)
N. Toda (1993)
E. Feigi (1997)
F.M. Abboud (2001)
R.A. Cohen (2005)
M.J. Joyner (2009)
M. Esler (2013)
N. Flavahan (2016)
M.W. Chapleau (2019)
J.F.R. Paton (2021)

David F. Bohr lecture

A. Somlyo (1993)
C. van Breemen (1997)
K.G. Morgan (2001)
T.M. Griffith (2005)
M. Nelson (2009)
R.C. Webb (2013)
K. Griendling (2016)
R.M. Touyz  (2019)
S. Taddei (2021)